Form 8-K





Washington, D.C. 20549



Form 8-K



Current Report

Pursuant to Section 13 or 15(d) of the

Securities Exchange Act of 1934

Date of Report (Date of earliest event reported): May 11, 2012



American Water Works Company, Inc.

(Exact name of registrant as specified in its charter)



Commission File Number: 001-34028


Delaware   51-0063696

(State or other jurisdiction

of incorporation)


(IRS Employer

Identification No.)

1025 Laurel Oak Road

Voorhees, NJ 08043

(Address of principal executive offices, including zip code)

(856) 346-8200

(Registrant’s telephone number, including area code)


(Former name or former address, if changed since last report)



Check the appropriate box below if the Form 8-K filing is intended to simultaneously satisfy the filing obligation of the registrant under any of the following provisions:


¨ Written communications pursuant to Rule 425 under the Securities Act (17 CFR 230.425)


¨ Soliciting material pursuant to Rule 14a-12 under the Exchange Act (17 CFR 240.14a-12)


¨ Pre-commencement communications pursuant to Rule 14d-2(b) under the Exchange Act (17 CFR 240.14d-2(b))


¨ Pre-commencement communications pursuant to Rule 13e-4(c) under the Exchange Act (17 CFR 240.13e-4(c))




Item 5.07. Submission of Matters to a Vote of Security Holders

Results of 2012 Annual Meeting of Stockholders

The Annual Meeting of the Stockholders of American Water Works Company, Inc. (the “Company”) was held on May 11, 2012, at The Mansion, located at 3000 Main Street, in Voorhees, New Jersey, pursuant to the Notice sent on or about March 30, 2012, to all stockholders of record at the close of business on March 19, 2012.

At the meeting, the holders of 157,445,020, or 89 percent of the Company’s common stock were represented in person or by proxy constituting a quorum. At the meeting:


(1) the following nominees were elected as directors of the Company for a term expiring at the 2013 Annual Meeting and received the votes set forth adjacent to their names below:


Name of Nominee

   For      Against      Abstain      Broker Non-Votes  

Stephen P. Adik

     138,316,269         196,422         100,843         18,831,486   

Martha Clark Goss

     137,010,559         1,518,074         84,901         18,831,486   

Julie A. Dobson

     138,193,826         328,604         91,104         18,831,486   

Richard R. Grigg

     137,005,272         178,983         1,429,279         18,831,486   

Julia L. Johnson

     135,108,925         2,084,959         1,419,650         18,831,486   

George MacKenzie

     138,312,086         210,598         90,850         18,831,486   

William J. Marrazzo

     136,916,157         1,604,315         93,062         18,831,486   

Jeffry E. Sterba

     138,333,328         185,289         94,917         18,831,486   


(2) the appointment of PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP as our independent registered public accounting firm for the fiscal year ending December 31, 2012 was ratified by the following vote:


For      Against      Abstain  
  156,000,216         1,324,136         120,668   


(3) the advisory vote on executive compensation was approved by the following vote:


For      Against      Abstain      Broker Non-Votes  
  136,580,374         1,188,943         844,217         18,831,486   


(4) the Stockholder Proposal regarding an amendment to the Company’s Annual Incentive Plan, was not approved, receiving the following vote:


For      Against      Abstain      Broker Non-Votes  
  4,056,213         133,703,316         854,005         18,831,486   

Item 8.01. Other Matters

On May 11, 2012, the board of directors of the Company reconstituted the committees of the board.

The membership of the committees of the board of directors is as follows:


Audit Committee


Compensation Committee


Finance Committee


Nominating/Corporate Governance

Martha Clark Goss (Chair)   William J. Marrazzo (Chair)   Richard R. Grigg (Chair)   Julia L. Johnson (Chair)
Stephen P. Adik   Julie A. Dobson   Martha Clark Goss   Julie A. Dobson
William J. Marrazzo   Julia L. Johnson   Stephen P. Adik   Richard R. Grigg


Pursuant to the requirements of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, the registrant has duly caused this report to be signed on its behalf by the undersigned hereunto duly authorized.


Date: May 17, 2012   By:  

/s/ Kellye L. Walker

    Kellye L. Walker
    Chief Administrative Officer, General Counsel and Secretary